In celebration of his album See You Tonight, which hits stores Tuesday (Oct. 15), Scotty McCreery is our Launch artist this week.

See You Tonight is the second studio album from McCreery, now a 20-year-old college sophomore who first gained national recognition as winner of season ten of American Idol. And while the North Carolina native may still be young, his debut album ( 2011’s Clear As Day) sure made a splash–a platinum one, in fact, having sold more than a million copies.

In addition to his success with Clear As Day, McCreery also landed a spot touring with Brad Paisley, recorded a Christmas album, and won multiple awards, which included being named the ACM’s Best New Artist in 2012. Not bad for a guy who, at the time, was still in high school.

His brand new album See You Tonight, though, shows McCreery is still as eager as ever to keep his music career marching forward.

“I really want this to be an album that people can listen to and say, ‘Oh, that is Scotty,’ and it really be me,” McCreery said about See You Tonight. “I am proud of the first record [Clear As Day] and crazy thankful for it, but we didn’t have a lot of time to make it. For this record, we took our time and wanted to make it as much me as possible. We’ve got some cool songs, some fun songs, some make-you-think songs. It’s really true to who I am.”

The first single “See You Tonight” has already been released. The song came out of a session McCreery had with Zach Crowell and Ashley Gorley. “We were hashing around ideas,” McCreery explained, “and we started playing a loop on the guitar. We said, ‘What does this make you think of?’ We talked about how that loop made you think about wanting to go see a girl. We started writing it, and before you know it, we thought, ‘Wow, this is a pretty good one!'”

The video for the song was filmed on the campus of North Carolina State University in Raleigh, where McCreery attends school. Watch it below:

McCreery may be busy with his schoolwork these days, but he also loves being in the studio. He sees it as the place to let the creative juices flow. And at the same time, it gives him the energy–and the material–to then go out and put on a solid live show.

“I’d say being in the studio, for me, it’s the chance to be an artist,” he said. “I think that’s when some of the biggest artistic things are coming out – when you’re really putting your ideas out there and when you’re really putting your thought and heart into the songs. When you’re in there, that’s what giving you the chance to go out there and do the live shows. Those are the songs you’re going to be singing to the crowd out there.”

See You Tonight track listing:

1. Now
2. See You Tonight
3. Get Gone With You
4. Feelin’ It
5. Feel Good Summer Song
6. Buzzin’
7. Can You Feel It
8. The Dash
9. Blue Jean Baby
10. Forget to Forget You
11. I Don’t Wanna Be Your Friend
12. Carolina Moon
13. Something More

Scotty McCreery see you tonight album cover


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live