By Amanda Wicks

Blake Shelton revealed the cover art for his upcoming album, If I’m Honest. The black and white close up of Shelton’s face shows off his stark expression, while the album’s title is written across the photo. It’s a straightforward design that reflects not only the album’s title, but also some of its more personal subject matter.

Related: Blake Shelton Announces Fall Tour Dates

Shelton spoke about the artwork on The Voice Monday evening (April 18th). “It’s called If I’m Honest, which is written across my face,” he said. “It comes out May 20. I’m excited about it. I think it’s the best I can do. I literally think it’s the best I can do. It’s all I got” (via Taste of Country).


Girlfriend Gwen Stefani also tweeted out a picture of the album’s back cover, which shows Shelton standing on the shoreline with his back to the camera. The pic revealed her role on the album: Stefani is featured on the ninth track, “Go Ahead and Break My Heart.” As if the pair couldn’t get any cuter after updating their Twitter avatars with photos of one another from childhood, now they’re making music together.

Shelton has hinted that the album deals with more personal experiences, which could involve his divorce from Miranda Lambert in 2015. On February 1st, he posted a photo in the recording booth and shared that he was “getting some experiences out today.” Given the title of some songs, like “Bet You Still Think of Me” and “It Ain’t Easy,” it’s not too hard to make the connection.

Shelton previously released the song “Friends” from the Angry Birds movie, and the gospel tune “Savior’s Shadow.” Check out the full tracklist below:

1. Straight Outta Cold Beer
2. She’s Got a Way With Words
3. Bet You Still Think of Me
4. Every Time I Hear That Song
5. Came Here to Forget
6. Every Goodbye
7. It Ain’t Easy
8. Guy with a Girl
9. Go Ahead and Break My Heart, feat. Gwen Stefani.
10. Friends (from the Angry Birds movie)
11. One Night Girl
12. DoingItToCountrySongs, feat. the Oak Ridge Boys
13. Green
14. You Can’t Make This Up
15. Savior’s Shadow


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live