By Annie Reuter

Longtime Kris Kristofferson fans don’t have to wait much longer for a new album from the singer-songwriter. Kristofferson’s first record in three years, The Cedar Creek Sessions, is scheduled for release June 17, just days before Kristofferson’s 80th birthday.

Related: Kris Kristofferson Tribute Event

The Cedar Creek Sessions is the follow-up to Kristofferson’s 2013 album Feeling Mortal. The album was recorded over three days in June, 2014 during an impromptu jam session at Cedar Creek Recording in Austin, Texas. Kristofferson tracked the tunes with a live band, which accompanied him on favorites like “Me and Bobby McGee,” “Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)” and “Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down.”

“The Loving Gift” features a duet with Sheryl Crow. The original song was made famous by Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash.

The Cedar Creek Sessions Track Listing:

Volume One
1. Duvalier’s Dream
2. The Loving Gift (with special guest Sheryl Crow)
3. The Sabre and the Rose
4. The Law is for the Protection of the People
5. It No Longer Matters What I Do
6. Stagger Mountain Tragedy
7. The Wife You Save
8. Lay Me Down and Love the World Away
9. The Bigger the Fool (The Harder the Fall)
10. Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down
11. Spooky Lady’s Revenge
12. Forever In Your Love
13. Winter

Volume Two
1. Darby’s Castle
2. Me and Bobby McGee
3. Broken Freedom Song
4. Casey’s Last Ride
5. Billy Dee
6. Easter Island
7. For the Good Times
8. Help Me Make It Through the Night
9. Jody and the Kid
10. Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)
11. Risky Business
12. To Beat the Devil


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live