Pittsburgh Public School Extends Tech Exchange Program

PITTSBURGH (Newsradio 1020 KDKA) School supplies in the time of the Coronavirus pandemic are different than normal.

23,000 students in Pittsburgh Public Schools are starting the first 9 weeks of school on-line, which requires new technology.

The Pittsburgh Public School District wants to make sure it's in the hands of all of its students and families.

The district will be extending their computer device exchange and need-based distribution schedule to include evening hours and a Saturday for added flexibility. 

Pittsburgh Public Schools says previously-issued devices will not work due to system upgrades, and must be exchanged for a device configured for this school year.

Device distribution will take place between 9:00 AM and 4:00 PM at the following locations:

Pittsburgh Carrick High School, 125 Parkfield Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15210

Pittsburgh Classical Academy, 1463 Chartiers Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15220

Pittsburgh Oliver Citywide Academy, 2323 Brighton Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15212

Pittsburgh Westinghouse Academy, 1101 N. Murtland Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15208

Pittsburgh Science and Technology Academy, Thackeray Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15260

 

2020-21 District Computer Device Exchange and Distribution

Grade Level

Date

Time

9th  

Friday, August 14

9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

2nd

Monday, August 17

9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

8th  

Tuesday, August 18

9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

3rd  

Wednesday, August 19

9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

7th   

Thursday, August 20

9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

4th & 6th   

Monday, August 24

9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

5th 

Tuesday, August 25

9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Make Up Days

(All Grade Levels Except PreK and Kindergarten)

Wednesday, August 26, Thursday, August 27, and Friday, August 28

9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

1st

Friday, August 28

 

Varies by School

Grades 2-12

Saturday, August 29

10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Kindergarten & Pre-Kindergarten

Monday, August 31, Tuesday, September 1 and Wednesday, September 2

Varies by School

 

___
Listen to KDKA Radio on the RADIO.COM App
Tell your smart speaker to "play News Radio 10 20 KDKA"

Receive email updates from KDKA Radio
Follow KDKA Radio: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram